Welcome to the on-line home of the

2008 South Dakota American
Legion State 'A' Tournament

For more State Tournament Information Click Below, or click the patch to return to the tournament home page:





State Champions

Player of the Year

Sportsmanship Award

Big Stick Award


Directions to Fossum

Contact Us




Big Stick Award Winners

This award, founded in 1994, is sponsored by the South Dakota Umpires' Association, and awarded to the individual with the highest batting average during the State Tournament with a minimum of 12 At-Bats.
Here are the past winners, teams, and averages:

Year Class 'A' Winner Class 'B' Winner
2007 Bryan Mergen, Brookings, .545 Matt Franck, Northville, .556
2006 Michael Babcock, Aberdeen, .550 Bryce Kreutzfeldt, Flandreau, .591
2005 Max Fenske, Rapid City Post 22, .578 Chris Sherman, Winner/Colome, .615
2004 Matt Adamson, Sioux Falls East, .546 Zach Lambrechts, Milbank, .471
2003 Justin Rippentrop, Sioux Falls West, .684 Dustin Schrader, Winner/Colome, .642
2002 Andrew Shepherd, Rapid City Post 22, .579 Kyle Broderson, Lennox, .471
2001 Adam Schroeder, Valley Springs, .667 Brendon Hinricks, Groton, .619
2000 Greg Hento, Mitchell, .444 Terry Tchida, Britton/Claremont, .610
1999 Eric Baily, Yankton, .500 Jesse Kurtenbach, Groton, .609
1998 Kelby Klosterman, Spearfish, .667 Justin Pearson, Big Stone City, .409
1997 Kris Garry, Sioux Falls East, .619 Dan Karges, Milbank, .609
1996 Shawn Ellis, Sioux Falls East, .565 Dallas Schneiderman, Brandon, .556
1995 Mark Ellis, Rapid City Post 22, .563 Zelos Johnson, Groton, .611
1994 Scott Dressler, Rapid City Post 22, .590 Tony Larsen, Vermillion, .583